Search - Categories
Search - Contacts
Search - Content
Search - News Feeds
Search - Web Links

folder Baby Safe Haven


document Abandoned Newborn Law Popular

By 1150 downloads

Download (txt, 1 KB)

Abandoned Newborn Law.txt

In the unlikely event that a person brings a newborn child to a police station, departments should
have procedures in place. Dispatchers and station commanders should be aware of what is expected.

A call to the local office of the Department of Social Services should be made.
DSS then immediately assumes custody and is responsible for paying for medical expenses.
(In fact, MassHealth covers the child 10 days retroactivity.)

The second call should be for an ambulance. The baby should be taken immediately to the Emergency Room of a "trauma" hospital.

The person at the station receiving the baby should encourage (but may not require) the person delivering the infant to answer some questions:

  • name of child;
  • name and address of parent or other person placing the child;
  • location of child's birthplace;
  • info on child's medical history, if available; and
  • any other info that might reasonably assist DSS or the court in current or future determinations of the best interests of the child, including whether the parent or guardian plans on returning to seek future custody of the child.

Treat all such cases as potential abuse and neglect incidents.
Fill out a 51A report and complete an investigation.
If the sole evidence is the "abandonment" at a hospital, police or fire station, no charge will be sustained.
It is up to the defendant to raise as an affirmative defense that the child was not over 7 days old when it was left at one of the designated facilities.

Baby Safe Haven Website Popular

By 1275 downloads


The Safe Haven Act of Massachusetts

The Safe Haven Act of Massachusetts (2004) allows a parent to legally surrender newborn infants 7 days old or younger at a hospital, police station, or manned fire station without facing criminal prosecution. The Safe Haven Act is an amendment to Chapter 119 of the Massachusetts General Laws, section 39.5. The law went into effect on October 29, 2004.

default FAQ For Baby Safe Haven Popular

By 1180 downloads

Download (doc, 49 KB)



  • 353 Providence Road
    South Grafton, MA 01560

Contact Info

  • (508) 839-5723 – main phone
  • (508) 839-3702 – fax
  • e-mail.

Office Hours

Mo-Fri 8am-4pm
Sat-Sun closed